Rewards after a tough semester

A full week after our IP presentations and I’m finally caught up on sleep. It’s remarkable how restorative a few days off can be after a difficult semester.

The final three weeks of this fall semester were very challenging. I started studying for finals before classes even finished. All of the hard work and long nights studying with my new TCU family really paid off because I did well enough to earn a 3.3 average for the semester. Mission accomplished as far as my grades are concerned. So many of my classmates are such good “teachers” and study buddies and learning and reviewing content with them was a real joy.

After finals, my team dove straight into our Integrated Project, a week-long, computer-based business simulation that pits five teams against each other in creating and running global microcomputer companies. All of our skills and knowledge were tested and teamwork was of the utmost importance since we were confined to a room for 12-16 hours at a time. Trust and collaboration were my team’s strengths and we finished strong in second place in our World of five companies. We finished IP week with two presentations: one for fellow students and faculty and one for recruiters from several local companies, including Frito-Lay, Bell Helicopter, Deloitte Consulting LLP and Sabre Holdings.

Travel is my reward for surviving the final three weeks of school. I’m spending Christmas with my family for the first time in eight years. Shortly after I return to Fort Worth after Christmas, I’ll depart for Chile for a study abroad trip with about a dozen of my classmates. The trip to Chile is certainly an once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and I’m very thankful that the Neeley School of Business offers this type of travel class. Many of my other TCU classmates are traveling to India or the Dominican Republic during the holiday break. The Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., will also be a popular destination for TCU students and alums next week.

On Christmas Eve I’m thankful for both my new TCU Neeley School of Business family and the opportunity to spend time with my mom, dad and my brother’s family.

Happy Holidays and GO FROGS!

Michele Machado

Leave a comment